All Saints Episcopal Church
125 South Waco Street
All Saints Episcopal Church came into existence in July 1875. The present building was completed in 1923. The Church is constructed of triple brick in the typical Gothic architecture style of English churches.
Mrs. Margaret Coleman Foat donated the land, helped finance the building and provided many beautiful furnishings in memory of her daughter, Margaret, who died at the age of 21 years. A plaque commemorating her daughter can be seen on the West exterior wall.
Stained glass windows are breathtaking in detail, and depict various aspects of the teachings of the Church. The Lady Chapel features a new alter that is a smaller version of the Church alter. Beautifully detailed icons, depicting various Saints, grace the Chapel.
The stone baptismal font and walnut alms are from the original 1876 church building. Many of the other furnishings date from the 1920’s and 1930’s.
The Church has received numerous eminent guests. Douglas Chandor and Ina (Kuteman) Chandor were married in the Church. Mr. Chandor was a renowned English portrait artist. Some of his paintings hang in the Smithsonian in Washington, D.C. Mr. Chandor brought King George of England, Duke of Windsor, to worship at All Saints during the King’s visit to the United States. Hood Simpson, four-star general, and one of the chief aides to General Eisenhower during World War II, married in this Church.
The Church has a Texas Historical Marker.
Return to the Heritage Map