211 South Rusk Street
The old Bradfish Home stands as one of Weatherford’s fine examples of Prairie School-influenced architecture. Intended as an announcement of the family’s new-found stature, the two story, red brick was completed in November in 1917 by Henry Joseph Bradfish and his wife Jessie. The home place, built at a cost of $10,000, featured a pull-through porte cache, detached carriage house and a large water tower. The land originally included much of the surrounding property. Mr. Bradfish owned the Bradfish Grain Company that can be seen just across the viaduct to the North. He included a colonial upstairs bedroom where he might watch the workings of his business in relative ease.
Despite the many changes that have taken place in the area around the home over the past 82 years, the home itself remains remarkably preserved.
A dramatically deep, wrap-around porch featuring large, tapered brick columns invites the visitor to step back in time into a home designed for both impressive entertaining and luxurious family living. The house still boasts the huge, original gas-fired furnace in the basement, hardwood doors, and over fifty unusual swing out windows.
Click here to return to the Heritage Map