Weatherford Presbyterian Church
204 South Main Street
The present church lot was purchased in 1895. The price for the lot was $3,500. L.B. Volk was selected as the architect. The church which is made of Parker County sandstone was erected. The inside of the church has beautiful stained glass windows and a very unique tin ceiling. Construction was completed in 1896. The building cost $8,000 and is regarded as probably the best church building for the money to be found in the state. The church was paid for and dedicated in 1908 and was named the Weatherford Presbyterian Church, U.S. The name has changed several times over the years but has always remained a Presbyterian church. The current Education Building was completed in 1949.
In 1945, lightning struck the tall cupola for the second time. It was at that time the damaged tower was lowered and then replaced by the present-day cupola. The building sat vacant for several years since the 1970s, and by God’s immense grace and providence the name of the church is now Weatherford Presbyterian Church, PCA. This magnificent historic church has been restored; the first service was held in the sanctuary in November 2015.
Return to the Heritage Map