402 West Spring Street
The Second Empire French style home can rightfully boast as being the oldest two story home in Weatherford. Started in 1876 and completed in 1881 details include a copper mansard roof, twenty-inch thick and hand quarried native stone walls and thirty-seven windows some as tall as eight feet. Interior details include a spiral stairway, 12 foot ceilings, oak floors, and a bay window. Built by R.W. Kindel, a pioneer druggist by trade and instrumental founder of the town of Weatherford, he sold the home for $5000.00 in 1895.
Mr. Kindel was an early pharmacist at a time when druggist produced their own tinctures, plasters and compounds. He served as an officer of the Texas Pharmaceutical Association and was Vice president of the Citizens National Bank (now Weatherford National Bank) located in the northwest side the square.
He founded the first castor oil mill west of the Mississippi River in Weatherford, the remnants of which can be seen on the property located at Front and Elm Streets, and he was engaged in the lumber business for a time. He was also treasurer of the Weatherford Episcopal Church and helped to bring water and electricity to the residents of the city. He and his wife, Frannie (Alison) Kindel raised eight children in the home.
The home has been awarded a Texas State Historical plaque.
Click here to return to the Heritage Map